There’s a new chess publishing house on the block – Chess Fortress! Co-founded by Grandmasters Branko Tadić and Miloš Perunović, their “goal is to create high-quality chess content that educates, entertains, and inspires chess enthusiasts of all levels, from beginners to expert players.”

You can find two of their newly released books; Sicilian Defense: Four Knights Variation and The London System: The Adventure Continues at Forward Chess, (with a few more releases in the pipeline).

Sicilian Defense: Four Knights Variation

One-half of the founding duo, GM Miloš Perunović, is also an author – with books such as The Modernized Benko, and now, under his own publishing house, Sicilian Defense: Four Knights Variation. Perunović is an expert in the Sicilian Defense, particularly the Four Knights Variation which is characterized by the moves 1.e4 c5 2.Nf3 e6 3.d4 cxd4 4.Nxd4 Nf6 5.Nc3 Nc6:

From this position, the book covers multiple lines that White has:

  • 6.Qd3
  • 6.Bf4
  • 6.Be2
  • 6.g3
  • 6.a3
  • 6.Nxc6
  • 6.Ndb5

The pawn on e6 (instead of d6) offers a few benefits; Black’s dark-squared bishop can easily develop to b4 placing pressure on the center, and Black also has the option to strike with d5. In most variations, Black can easily create pleasant positions, and in the case of complex ones, you will be offered different moves for Black. This is why the book’s synopsis states that this line (and the book) will suit both aggressive and defensive players – there is something for everyone!

Sicilian Defense: Four Knights Variation Table of Contents

  1. Chapter One: 6.Qd3, 6.Bf4, 6.Be2 and 6.g3
  2. Chapter Two: 6.a3
  3. Chapter Three: 6.Nxc6 bxc6 7.e5 Nd5 8.Ne4 Bb7
  4. Chapter Four: 8…Qc7 9.f4 Qb6 10.a3
  5. Chapter Five: 10.c4 Bb4 11.Ke2 f5 12.Nf2
  6. Chapter Six: 12.exf6
  7. Chapter Seven: 6.Ndb5 Bb4
  8. Chapter Eight: 6…Bc5 7.Nd6+
  9. Chapter Nine: 7.Bf4
  10. Chapter Ten: Exercises

The London System: The Adventure Continues

The London System, characterized by moves 1.d4 and 2.Nf3 followed by Bf4 and e3, has become very popular lately, and for good reason – White creates a flexible, solid, and well-protected pawn structure with many opportunities to attack. Moreover, White has a wide range of options after Bf4, allowing flexibility and making preparation and anticipation more difficult for the opponent.

The author, GM Nikola Sedlak, argues that this repertoire is one that can be used for life. He creates a strong foundation for the reader and provides detailed reasoning behind all of his recommendations which means that rather than just memorizing lines, you will understand why they work and the ideas behind them.

The book’s introduction, which you can view in the free sample, prepares the reader for what’s to come by providing snippets of all the chapters.

The London System: The Adventure Continues Table of Contents

  1. Chapter One: The Caro-Kann Position
  2. Chapter Two: The Classical Setup
  3. Chapter Three: Dubov’s Line
  4. Chapter Four: The Modern Line …Qb6 – …Qxb2
  5. Chapter Five: 5…Bg4
  6. Chapter Six: Early Qb6
  7. Chapter Seven: Early …Bd6
  8. Chapter Eight: The Symmetry
  9. Chapter Nine: The Grunfeld Setup
  10. Chapter Ten: Exercises
  11. Chapter Eleven: Theoretical Novelties

Check out these two new releases by Chess Fortress on Forward Chess, and don’t miss out on their introductory sale offers!

P.S Keep an eye out for more Chess Fortress releases soon

Latest posts by Charlize (see all)

Leave a Reply